

# Minutes of Thornton Ratepayers and Residents Association **Annual General Meeting**

# Date: 26 July 2016 Venue: Grace Church, Sipres Road

#### 1. Welcome

Tracy Henry welcomed all and introduced the Interim Steering Committee and thanked them for all their effort to date. The Interim Committee members are:

- **Gregory** Alkana 1.
- 2. **Glen Birtles**
- 3 Venessa Edwards
- Mervyn Franciscus 4
- 5. Nigel Hankey
- Heidi Hector 6.
- 7. June Hendricks Tracy Henry



- Leon Hopkins 9.
- 10. Jozua Hugo

8.

- 11. Howard Jacobs
- 12. Randall Reid
- 13. Nolan Smith
- 14. George Smith
- 15. Junita Williams

## 2. Attendance

2.1 An attendance list is attached

2.2 Registration as a member required proof of residence and the annual fee of R50

3. Opening

Nolan Smith opened the meeting explaining that the purpose of the meeting was to establish a Ratepayers Association by voting in a committee. He recommended that we learn from past mistakes and that we work together as a united community and requested that we all show respect and tolerance when we do not agree with one another.

## 4. Questions/Requests from the floor addressed by Nolan Smith

4.1 Question – is the constitution finalized?

Answer – No, as there is no official Association yet.

- 4.2 Question on what basis are we charging a fee if there is no Association? Answer – this is how all Ratepayer Associations operate and this is how the previous Thornton Ratepayers Association operated therefore no further explanation was offered
- 4.3 An objection was raised about having to pay cash and no option to do an EFT Response – assurance was given that a bank account would be opened as soon as possible

4.4 A request was made to have a time set for when the constitution will be finalized

#### 5. Recommendations for a timeline to accept the constitution

- 5.1 Those elected remains interim until the constitution is accepted
- 5.2 The committee be voted in and the constitution accepted then amendments can be made afterwards
- 5.3 The committee is voted in and the draft constitution is circulated for comment and accepted after one month
- A vote was taken and the majority (59) voted for point 5.3

#### 6. Nominations

Someone raised dissatisfaction with how the nominations were done and who the nominees are and was not comfortable voting for people she did not know. It was agreed that the nominees would introduce themselves before each vote.

Some people did not understand the urgency to establish the association. Nolan Smith explained that there are developments happening that are affecting Thornton and the community needs to be engaged and informed.

Brian Watkyns provided some background about previous experiences with Ratepayers Association in Thornton that was poorly supported and encouraged people to support the steering committee.

Brian Watkyns and Nadeem Hendricks facilitated the voting process and the following were nominated and unanimously voted in:

- 1. Tracy Henry Chairperson
  - 2. Heidi Hector Vice Chairperson
  - 3. June Hendricks Treasurer
  - 4. Venessa Edwards Secretary
  - 5. Junita Williams Communications Rep
  - 6. Jozua Hugo Civic Ward Rep

It was agreed that the following nominations for committee members be accepted.

- 7. Gregory Alkana
- 8. Glen Birtles
- 9. Goolam Mohamed Dustay
- 10. Mervyn Franciscus
- 11. Nigel Hankey
- 12. Leon Hopkins
- 13. Riaad Isaacs
- 14. Faizel Jacobs
- 15. Howard Jacobs
- 16. Roy Parish
- 17. Randall Reid
- 18. George Smith
- 19. Nolan Smith
- 20. Adrian Whiteboyd

7. Closing

Secretary

Tracy Henry, the new Chairperson was invited to make closing remarks.

A final question was raised about whether the Ratepayers Association would be able to influence the development at Conradie.

Trace Henry responded that the proposal to build high density housing on vacant land without fair community involvement is not a problem unique to Thornton and the Ratepayers Association will keep the community informed of meetings and objection dates in order to give everyone a fair opportunity to participate The meeting was then closed at 20:30

Chairperson dwards

236 Date

Date

Proposed by Randal Seconded Glen